Curriculum and Instruction

New York State Standards

The Carmel Central School District educates the whole student through partnerships to become lifelong learners in an ever-changing world.

We offer relevant curriculum and instructional practices utilizing expertise, resources, and technology, all grounded in the standards of New York State.

New York State Standards:

New York State Assessment System

The New York State Education Department provides a comprehensive assessment system. Students are tested for:

  • English Language Arts and Mathematics: Grades 3-8
  • Science: Grades 4 & 8
  • Regents Exams: Grades 8-12

Information on the state assessment system can be found on the Office of State Assessment website.